2016 Annual Conference Program Session Information


Program Proposal Examples2016_Program_Session_Information.pdf

2015 Annual Conference Presentation Materials

2013 Annual Conference Presentation Materials

2012 Annual Conference Presentation Materials

2011 Annual Conference Presentation Materials


Program Committee Goals 2016


The Program Committee is responsible for the recruitment and selection of the educational sessions presented at the annual conference through the use of innovative strategies to meet the needs of conference attendees. The committee is charged with developing conference program, which provides opportunity for exploration of timely and important topics to professionals within the field of student housing/residence life.


Professional Growth - Engage members in meaningful roles and learning opportunities.

Relationship - Forge quality connections between members and with their Association.

Inclusiveness - Honor the dignity of all persons, regardless of differences.

Stewardship - Manage members' time, talent, and material resources responsibly.



  • Identify and promote "hot topic" programs while working together with other committees to recruit presenters in these areas.
  • Work collaboratively with other committees to recruit quality sessions to create a meaningful and worthwhile experience.
  • Outreach to experts, possibly outside of residence life, on “hot topics” and other interest areas.
  • Outreach to past presenters to continue presenting at fall conference.
  • Continue to reach out to Mid and Senior Housing professionals.
  • Create a marketing tool that assists potential presenters in submitting a successful program proposal.
  • Critically examine the current program proposal form to determine if we are collecting all necessary information.


  • Continue to examine the program selection process to make it as unbiased as possible.
  • Critically examine each program proposal to determine its fit with the goals and mission of UMR. 
  • Consider the depth of the program proposal materials and how it meets the needs of conference attendees; including feedback from the previous year’s conference evaluation.
  • Strive for a paperless review of proposals.
  • Select programs that expose members to experiences that represent and enhance the varied identities within our region.


Experience: Presenter

  • Provide every presenter with the information they need to have a positive experience presenting including, but not limited to:
    • Room setup
    • Audio / Visual equipment availability
    • Scheduling
    • Moderator information
  • Coordinate timely communication between liaisons and presenters.
  • Providing presenters with their session evaluations in a timely manner.

 Experience: Attendee

  • Foster a sense of inclusiveness for all attendees.
  • Honor our responsibility to those unable to attend the conference by working to have materials posted online within 3 weeks of the conclusion of the conference.
  • Enhance overall Guidebook user experience including the session evaluation tool.
  • Provide accurate and easy to use information about the conference.

Experience: Moderator to

  • Utilize online website such as VolunteerSpot for moderator sign ups.
  • Coordinate timely communication between moderator subcommittee and moderators.
  • Examine the effectiveness of online moderator training.
  • Recruit new members as moderators to expand opportunities for involvement in the association.


Committee Members

  • Matt Burns, Minnesota State University, Mankato, Committee Chair
  • Kirsten Andrews, Minnesota State University, Mankato, Committe Chair
  • Brady Hubbard, Iowa State University
  • Paige Maria Freeman, University of Kansas
  • Britt Hudson, University of Northern Iowa
  • Heather Kreutzer, Nebraska Wesleyan University
  • Katy Braunsky, University of WIsconsin Eau Claire
  • Leandra Jenkins, Kansas State University
  • Kristi Preston, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
  • Larissa Buster, College of Saint Mary
  • Megan Swingle, Truman State University
  • Marcus D'lorio, Dakota State University
  • Erik Heller, Gustavus Adolphus College
  • Hannah Shuler, Loras College
  • Kody Henke, Iowa State University
  • Theresa Luensmann, University of Wisconsin - La Crosse
  • Bradley Wolfe, Pittsburg State University
  • Danny Gissing, South Dakota State